# College and University Trustee Screening Commission

Senator Harvey S. Peeler, Jr. Chairman Senator Thomas C. Alexander Senator John. L. Scott, Jr. Senator Daniel B. "Danny" Verdin, III

> Staff: Martha Casto Julie Price



213 Gressette Building
P.O. Box 142
Columbia, South Carolina 29202
Phone: (803) 212-6430
Email: CollegeandUniversity@scsenate.gov

Representative William R. Whitmire Vice-Chairman Representative John King Representative Kirkman Finlay, III Representative James H. "Jay" Lucas

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 29, 2021

The College and University Trustee Screening Commission has received **LETTERS OF INTENT** from the candidates listed below. Completed applications for these seats are due no later than Tuesday, November 23, 2021 at 12:00 noon. By law, the election for these seats cannot be held prior to April 1, 2022. The election date must be set by resolution of the General Assembly.

### The Citadel

One (1) at-large seat - Benjamin D. Dixon - Wadmalaw Island

- term expires June 30, 2028 - Dylan W. Goff - *Columbia* 

- Kara Irvin - North Charleston

- W. Scotty Sheriff - Charleston

#### **Clemson University**

Three (3) at-large seats - Patricia H. McAbee - *Greenville* - terms expire June 30, 2026 - John N. McCarter - *N. Myrtle Beach* 

Sharka Marie Prokes - *Inman*Joseph D. Swann - *Greenville* 

### **College of Charleston**

1<sup>st</sup> Congressional District - Seat 1 - Elizabeth M. Burke - *Charleston* 

- term expires June 30, 2026

2<sup>nd</sup> Congressional District - Seat 3 - John H. Busch - *Chapin* 

- term expires June 30, 2026 - Derrick L. Williams - Columbia

3<sup>rd</sup> Congressional District - Seat 5 - Shawn M. Holland - *Anderson* 

- term expires June 30, 2026 - George P. McLeer, Jr. - Fountain Inn

4<sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Seat 7 - Al Eads - *Greenville* 

- term expires June 30, 2026 - Matthew C. Klein - *Greenville* 

College of Charleston - continued 5 <sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Seat 9 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	Henry A. Futch, Jr Rock Hill
6 <sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Seat 11 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	Demetria N. Clemons - <i>Columbia</i> Darryl J. Fyall - <i>Charleston</i>
7 <sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Seat 13 - term expires June 30, 2026	- -	Henrietta U. Golding - <i>Myrtle Beach</i> Ashley B. Nance - <i>Florence</i>
At-Large - Seat 15 - term expires June 30, 2026	- -	Renee B. Romberger - <i>Greenville</i> Neysa N. Williams - <i>North Charleston</i>
At-Large - Seat 17 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	Steve D. Swanson - Mount Pleasant
Francis Marion University  1st Congressional District - Seat 1 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	Mark S. Moore - Mount Pleasant
5 <sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Seat 5 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	H. Paul Dove, Jr Winnsboro
6 <sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Seat 6 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	Floyd L. Keels - Lake City
At-Large - Seat 8 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	Robert E. Lee - Myrtle Beach
At-Large - Seat 10 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	Kenneth W. Jackson - Mount Pleasant
At-Large - Seat 12 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	W. Edward Gunn - Columbia
At-Large - Seat 13 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	Patricia C. Hartung - Greenville
At-Large - Seat 14 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	L. Franklin Elmore - Greenville

**Lander University** At-Large - Seat 8 Robert A. Barber, Jr. - Charleston - term expires June 30, 2026 At-Large - Seat 9 James C. Shubert - Simpsonville - term expires June 30, 2026 At-Large - Seat 10 Peggy Makins - Lexington - term expires June 30, 2026 Donald H. Scott - Waterloo At-Large - Seat 11 - term expires June 30, 2026 At-Large - Seat 12 DeWitt B. Stone, Jr. - Clemson - term expires June 30, 2026 Raymond D. Hunt, Sr. - Chapin At-Large - Seat 13 - term expires June 30, 2026 At-Large - Seat 14 Marcia T. Hydrick - Seneca - term expires June 30, 2026 At-Large - Seat 15 John E. Craig, Jr. - Lancaster - term expires June 30, 2026 **Medical University of South Carolina** 1<sup>st</sup> Congressional District - Medical Seat Donald R. Johnson, II - Isle of Palms - term expires June 30, 2026 2<sup>nd</sup> Congressional District - Medical Seat James Lemon - Columbia - term expires June 30, 2026 3<sup>rd</sup> Congressional District - Medical Seat Richard M. Christian, Jr. - Greenwood - term expires June 30, 2026 4<sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Lay Seat Thomas L. Stephenson - Greenville

Terri R. Barnes - Rock Hill

- term expires June 30, 2026

- term expires June 30, 2026

5<sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Lay Seat

Medical University of South Carolina - continued 6<sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Medical Seat W. Melvin Brown III - Charleston - term expires June 30, 2026 7<sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Lay Seat James A. Battle, Jr. - Nichols - term expires June 30, 2026 **South Carolina State University** 1<sup>st</sup> Congressional District - Seat 1 Monica R. Scott - Charleston - term expires June 30, 2026 3<sup>rd</sup> Congressional District - Seat 3 Daniel R. Varat - Piedmont - term expires June 30, 2026 5<sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Seat 5 no candidate filed - term expires June 30, 2026 7<sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Seat 7 Starlee Alexander - Florence - term expires June 30, 2026 At-Large - Seat 9 Rodney C. Jenkins - Columbia - term expires June 30, 2026 At-Large - Seat 11 Robert S. Reese - Charleston - term expires June 30, 2026 **University of South Carolina** 1<sup>st</sup> Judicial Circuit Charles H. Williams - Orangeburg - term expires June 30, 2026 3<sup>rd</sup> Judicial Circuit C. Dorn Smith III - Lake City

- C. Dorn Smith III - Lake City
- term expires June 30, 2026

5th Judicial Circuit
- term expires June 30, 2026

- Alexander English - Blythewood
- Aileen L. Webb - Columbia

7th Judicial Circuit
- term expires June 30, 2026

- D. Benjamin Graves - Spartanburg
- Henry L. Jolly, Jr. - Gaffney
- J. Patrick Anderson - Spartanburg

**University of South Carolina - continued** 

9<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit - John C. von Lehe - *Mount Pleasant* 

- term expires June 30, 2026

11<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit - Thad H. Westbrook - *Lexington* 

- term expires June 30, 2026

12<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit - C. Edward Floyd - *Florence* 

- term expires June 30, 2026

13<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit - D. Hollis Felkel II - *Simpsonville* 

- term expires June 30, 2026 - C. Brody Glenn - *Greenville* 

Reid T. Sherard - Greenville

**Winthrop University** 

3<sup>rd</sup> Congressional District - Seat 3 - Julie G. Fowler - *Anderson* 

- term expires June 30, 2028 - Rhonda S. Grant - Seneca

4<sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Seat 4 - Edward R. Driggers - *Greer* 

- term expires June 30, 2028

Wil Lou Gray Opportunity School

Two (2) At-Large seats - Thomas Hamilton - Chester

- terms expire June 30, 2026 - J. Blake Lindsey - West Columbia

- Marilyn E. Taylor - *Columbia* 

-XX-